• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Vector Image as Frame

New Here ,
Feb 22, 2017 Feb 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm relatively new to InDesign so hopefully this isn't a redundant question but i'm looking to use vector image of a cog with a transparent center as a frame for pictures of students. I know the same effect could be done using layers but I was wondering if I could use an image as the frame for content just to make everything a little cleaner and give me more options.

Thanks in advance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 24, 2017 Feb 24, 2017

I believe that the cog is what's called a compound path. So the image is being pasted into the compound object, resulting in what you see.

Try selecting the cog with the Selection (black arrow) tool and choose Object > Paths > Release Compound Path. Then select the inner circle and paste into that. To move everything together, you'll need to select the inner path, the outer path, and the image and choose Object > Group.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This can be done either by creating the vector shape directly in InDesign, or creating it in Illustrator and pasting it into InDesign.

(You may have to tinker with your clipboard handling preferences to get this to work, and it works best with simple vectors)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

but i'm looking to use vector image of a cog with a transparent center as a frame for pictures of students