• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Selection tools deleting pixels instead of deselecting when option is held

New Here ,
Mar 02, 2017 Mar 02, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I have been working with Photoshop for about 25 years, but took a year off from work to travel. Now that I'm back, I'm having a very basic problem, and I'm not sure if t's due to my aging computer system or if it's a new feature in Photoshop 2017 that I do not know how to work around. When I have a selection, I hold down the option key to deselect parts, but instead of simply deselecting those areas, it is also taking the pixels/image as well. At first, I thought this was a new feature that I needed to turn off or learn about, but I can't seem to google it up.

I addition, if I change layers, the selection tool goes back to subtracting from the selection like normal. Might someone help me determine if this is old-mac-initis or a new feature?

Specific example just in case: I command-select a layer of type to get marching ants around a word. I decide I want one of the letters deselected. I choose the lasso tool and, holding down the option key, draw a quick ring around the letter. Instead of just removing the selection, it also removes the letter.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 02, 2017 Mar 02, 2017

When truly unexplainable things happen in Photoshop restoring Preferences after making sure all customized presets like Actions, Patterns, Brushes etc. have been saved might be a good starting point:

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/kb/basic-trouble-shooting-steps.html

If it happens again could you please post screenshots with the pertinent Panels visible?

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied