Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Trying to 'punch out' a graphic to play video behind

Contributor ,
Mar 03, 2017 Mar 03, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Greetings,

I'm fairly new to PS and have a question about masking. Here's what I'm trying to achieve.

I have an oversize image of a sky. I created a smart object which is a nesting doll of different - and additive - blur effects that create rays and a haze around my title words.

I would like to make this smart object become the mask for the oversize image - with the intent of playing a video behind it which would 'peek' through the white text along with the opacity of those blur effects (selective opacity mask).

I'm having a hard time figuring this one out. I haven't stumbled on the right sequence of words. And it probably doesn't help that it's way past bedtime.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 04, 2017 Mar 04, 2017

To split a Blend if-handle alt-click/drag it.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• You can give the animated SO Blend if-settings (with split handles)

• put it in a Group and

• Clipping Mask the image Laye rot the Group.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It's an incredibly basic thing to do with Photoshop, and rather than reinvent the wheel, you should go google how to place video in text, and video matte painting. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied