Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

reducing the size of my file.

New Here ,
Mar 08, 2017 Mar 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

i'm new to after effects (i'm still using the trial version) and illustrator. After 4 hours of work, i'm finally finished with my animation that takes only 6 seconds. My plan was to upload it to steam, but it can only be 8 MB. When I first rendered it, I had a file of 80MB, now I have a file of 20 MB with the DV settings and AVI DV PAL 48kHz. I've watched some tutorials and they advice me to use quicktime and then H.264. But the problem is, I do have quicktime and i can select it but when I try to select H.264, it's not in the options list.

Which settings shut I use?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 08, 2017 Mar 08, 2017

If you want to create a gif file you should:

1. Limit the frame rate to 15 or less. 8 would be better
  2. Limit the frame size to about 640 pixels wide. Smaller = better
  3. Use Photoshop to compress your gif file - study up, it's easy, just load the movie

You cannot create a HD sized animated gif that has more than a half dozen frames that is only about 8 mb. It's mathematically impossible to create a file that size that is not incredibly compressed and looks horrible.

If this does not solve your problem then

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

H.264 these days is rendered directly via Adobe Media Encoder.

Mylenium

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

yes but which settings do I need to use to make my video under 8 MB

Votes

Translate