• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Best CPU for Lightroom/Adobe suite

Community Beginner ,
Mar 10, 2017 Mar 10, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I'm a professional content creator. I am going to build a new workstation, but i'm not sure which CPU would suite best my needs, I will, in fact, use almost exclusively Adobe softwares (mainly lightroom, photoshop and sometimes After effects and Premiere). I was thinking about the I7 6850k or the Ryzen 1800x, but I heard that the I7 7700k would perform better (excluding exporting) being stronger in single threaded tasks. Could you give me some advice? Thank you in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 10, 2017 Mar 10, 2017

6850K has 6 cores too.

If you want to optimize for current LR, I'd go for the 7700. If you believe in the future and that LR is fixed to make proper use of more than 4 cores, the 6850k or the 1800x would be the choice ... IMHO.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I haven't seen any benchmarks on the Ryzen CPUs, don't go by the hype, find some benchmarks.

Having said that, for Lightroom ONLY (and not other Adobe software, which I cannot comment on), you want the fastest 4-core CPU you can afford.

I have never heard that speed on any CPU doesn't apply to exporting, it certainly does apply to exporting, the faster the CPU, the faster the export.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied