Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Batch Save For Web (Legacy) - Not working as intended

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2017 Mar 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All,

I am brand new to the Adobe Forums - so I hope I'm doing this right.

Essentially, I am trying to use an Action to Batch optimize images for Web. There are a ton of images for this client and I don't particularly want to sit and optimize all 200+ individually.

I have set up a new Action to do the following:

ps-actions.png

The problem is that when I run the batch, instead of saving each image individually, it just overwrites one file over and over. The batch settings are:

ps-batch.png

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong - I followed a tutorial, as I have never set up an Action like this before. No one else seems to be having a problem, and I can't seem to find any discussions, here or elsewhere, talking about this particular issue.

I tried using Export instead of the Legacy Save for Web, but the Action didn't record that at all (which confuses me).

I have an image compression program, but it doesn't compress them enough, even when I run the compression multiple times. Not to mention that PS has a really good optimization system with great results. So I would like to get this working.

Any help would be great!

Thanks

Centeine

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 15, 2017 Mar 15, 2017

Another way (and this is my own "safe procedure"):

Set destination to "none" in the batch dialog.

Set save location in the SFW dialog. Have a destination folder ready. This is sticky, and will then be recorded in the action, and the files saved with original names.

End the action with "close without saving" (important!)

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Advisor ,