• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

My edit history is not recognized after moving work from my laptop back onto my desktop

Community Beginner ,
Mar 15, 2017 Mar 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I hope someone might be able to help!!

I recently moved a folder on lightroom safely onto an external hard drive, as I needed to continue working on my laptop on the go (I've never done this before but I followed a youtube tutorial so hopefully its all good!). I managed to get the files open on my laptop as expected and spent a while editing the photos within the collection I'd previously created. Later on, when I plugged my external hard drive back into my desktop and opened up lightroom, there was no record of the edit history and no changes within the collection had been made. I still have all the files, as lightroom recognizes the location, but I want to know how to get the photos I spent all day editing back onto my desktop!

The odd thing is - when I plug the external hardrive back into my laptop all the edited changes are still there, but once plugged into my desktop they are no longer. I don't really know what has happened or what I have done so please excuse the poor explanation!!

Many thanks

Jasmine

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You need to learn to use File > Import from Another Catalog. The catalogue contains the edit history, the folder does not.

An alternative is to keep the catalogue itself on the external drive, which has pros and cons.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines