• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Compositing question

Contributor ,
Mar 19, 2017 Mar 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hey guys,  I'm pretty new to after effects and I'd like to be able to remove/add actors from a scene for mashup videos.  I was wondering how it is done?

Here is an example I'd love to be able to do something similar.

Can anyone tell me how they did this?

Fifty Shades of Tubby VFX REEL - YouTube

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Enthusiast , Mar 20, 2017 Mar 20, 2017

Oh, ok, that's more clear. So, I believe we've answered the second part of your question.  Now to the first part, how they got it out?

Assuming they pulled it from an actual Teletubby clip, there's really only one way. Rotoscope.

With the fairly simple shape and good contrast, small sequences would not be terribly difficult.

Eric

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast ,
Mar 20, 2017 Mar 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Those kind of videos are being done quite often these days. 

In general, to add people or other items to a scene like that, it will require a couple techniques.

1.  May require shooting people on green screen to overlay them on the footage unless it is a CGI item.

2.  Unless positioned in a place where nothing overlaps it, there will be some roto work required (example, in order to place behind a person of object existing in the original scene.

I try to provide examples when I have them or make something and just so happens I have one for this too.  In the link below, I shot myself on green screen, integrated myself in to the scene.  Now, around my waist and hands, I had to mask/roto myself out so that my body did not show in front of the bottle on the table, etc. (I'm the guy with the brown coat next to Doc).