• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Working with outside graphic designers

Engaged ,
Mar 21, 2017 Mar 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a guy who already has his own graphic designer and hosting who wants a website. I am an independent web designer and am not used to working this way. Do any of you have experience with this sort of situation?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've done this quite a few times.

The only real issues are: what medium does the other designer predominantly work in and what's their skill level?

If it's a print guy/gal and they're going to design the website and you're supposed to then piece it together in HTML, you're going to need to explain some of the differences involved going from print to the web. Responsive Design, for example, can be a foreign concept to a lot of print designers. You may want to explain it along the lines of "Create a catalog page, then reformat to fit both a post card and a movie poster. With the web, you're not designing for a set size" (desktop to mobile to 4k huge screen).

You are "the web expert" in that situation. You need to educate their designer in what works online and what doesn't. If they don't take your advice, their site isn't going to work right and that's not going to be your fault.

If he's another web designer, all I can do is say good luck, it's going to be a bumpy ride. It's rare that you end up working with another web designer with the same, or even relatively close, skill level. If they're beyond your skill or far beneath it, there will be a lot of butting heads if "the lead" isn't worked out early in the contract.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines