• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Xeon e5 render and playback optimization for multi-core cpu (14 cores and gtx980 support)

Community Beginner ,
Mar 21, 2017 Mar 21, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Whattup guys? this is my first time in adobe forum,

I will explain you guys my workflow and see if you guys can help me:

I took the same project of video (2min and 40s) that I was doing that contained 4k and 1080p120fps from de sony a6300, LUTs adjusment layer, effects like zoom, glitch, slow mo and speed up.

this is my old editing workhorse:

core i7 2600, gtx 680, 8gb ram ddr3, ssd.

the video playback on full quality wanst bad, about 1000 dropped frames

render time was about 15-16minutes with CUDA acceleration, (CPU would be around 80-100% load, GPU around 4-8%load)

So I builded a new pc, exclusevely for editing in premiere and after effects:

new workhorse v1.0:

xeon e5 2695v3 (14 cores, 2.3ghz); gtx680 ( ordered a new gpu but havent yet arrived), 16gb ram ddr4; ssd for editing.

So, the playback was totally awesome, was surprised by how much it got better:

playback at full res dropped only 353frames, much smoother, if I paused and went back it wouldn´t drop frames for that section again.