• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I "unpurge" the undo function?

New Here ,
Mar 26, 2017 Mar 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am using Photoshop CC 2017 on a retina Macbook Pro, I am fairly new to using photoshop, and I have mistakenly purged my "undo" function.

How do I recover this?

Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance for any replies.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 26, 2017 Mar 26, 2017
How do I recover this?

Once you purged the History consider that information as gone.

And keep in mind that the History is not being saved with the file, so work non-destructively (use Adjustment Layers instead of applying Adjustments directly for example) if the necessity of any future editing seems likely.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How do I recover this?

Once you purged the History consider that information as gone.

And keep in mind that the History is not being saved with the file, so work non-destructively (use Adjustment Layers instead of applying Adjustments directly for example) if the necessity of any future editing seems likely.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Great advice from c.pfaffenbilcher.
I would add that if you are working on a large, important file, save it regularly as a PSD with an incremental name e.g. filenameA.psd ; filenameB.PSD.............etc

You can always delete some of those earlier versions later - but they can get you out of a real mess if you make an error.

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate