• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to rotoscope/color mask two colors on a person?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 05, 2017 Apr 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am pretty new to motion graphics so I apologize if this is a rudimentary or poorly worded question!

I am trying to rotoscope a person playing guitar where the person's body would then become one color, and then the guitar would be another color.

After that I am hoping to color key both of those colors so that they become textured backgrounds (so the body would be one background and the guitar would be another).

Is that possible or feasible?

Any help would be appreciated!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It sounds like you have two different things to deal with.

1.  Rotoscoping one or the other from the scene, which I'd guess is easiest to do the guitar.

2.  Recoloring the different layers (easiest).

First, duplicate the footage, place the main one below, lock it.

Select top layer (second copy), and begin the roto.

Not sure how long you are talking about but obviously, the longer and more movement, the more difficult it will be.  I'd also expect that you'd have to take your time to work around where the hands meet the guitar.  I'd either roto the guitar out or just a mask may be sufficient depending on the footage.

If this is a stylized look you are going after, then how meticulous you get (or not) may give you more flexibility.  What I mean is, you may be ok with a widened, softened mask to where one color bleeds over to the other a little bit, etc.

Past that, using any number of the colorization tools, you can adjust the color.

Eric

Votes