• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I do a basic stills animation featuring people as puppets?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 06, 2017 Apr 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone.

I am currently working on a basic 2D animation for the last supper.

This is my first attempt at animating so I am a newbie with multiple questions. I am happy to pay for advice should anyone have referals or be reluctant to offer free advice as Im desperate to get things moving forward with my project.

For the background on my project .....Here is what I have done so far...

I have broken leornado Da vinci's painting "The Last supper" into multiple layers on photoshop and filled out the gaps in the background should I wish to move the characters around the scene a bit or manipulate limbs etc.

I have given each character (in separate layers) eyeballs, pupils, eye lids, eye blink, as well as 3 different brow layers.

I have also animated different mouth shapes (about 5 different mouth shapes) so i can create a generic talking look from the characters at the dinner table.

My questions are as follows....

When I originally drew the  eye parts and different mouth shapes, I grouped these layers in photoshop, and when I bring them in to AE, these said groups become compositions that I have to click on in order to access (for example- there will be a  composition that contains all the mouth shapes and a separate composition that has all the different eye functions). As I click on the relevant group, all i see on the monitor is that particular part without the context of surroundings (not the entire scene).

Is this normal ?

(I cant see the characters in relation to each other unless I flick back to that window).