• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do I create this gradient effect?

New Here ,
Apr 08, 2017 Apr 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone. This is my first time on the forums, so I am sorry if I am not doing this correctly. Anyway, I like to design airplane liveries in my free time on photoshop. Being relatively new to the software, I was wondering how gradients like the ones shown below are created. If anyone has instructions to make gradients like this, I would love to hear. Thank you!

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 11.16.17 AM.pngScreen Shot 2017-04-08 at 11.15.52 AM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you referring to the pattern?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

For this, I'm a big fan of using Blending modes, varying shades of gray for darkness and lightness, and Clipping Masks to control the position of the effect. Here, I created a gradient, applied it to a new layer, Made a Clipping Mask to make sure the colors only showed on the pixels I wanted, changed the blending mode to Soft Light, so that ONLY the luminosity of the grays affected my colors beneath, and then messed with the opacity. Hope it helps!

Adobe Community Expert / Adobe Certified Instructor

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Nice - Thank you for posting.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied