• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What's the best Nvidia Graphics Card for Premiere Pro CC 2017?

Explorer ,
Apr 06, 2017 Apr 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am considering a switch from Mac to PC and researching graphics cards.  Here are the different combos I'm considering and I'm curious to know what the best performing card/cards would be.  I am a full time editor cutting half hour and hour format documentaries and reality tv.  I use a fair amount of transition effects and 4k video.

Geforce 1080 Ti x 2

OR

Geforce 1080 TI PLUS Tesla K40

OR

Quadro GP 5000

Any insight or recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 07, 2017 Apr 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Those may be overkill, depending on the performance of your future PC's other hardware components (chiefly CPU, RAM and disks/storage). For example, if your new PC has a weakling CPU and minimalist-performing storage, then any of these combinations would be a colossal waste of money as far as performance in CUDA applications is concerned.

In addition, the middle option should not be considered since Tesla cards will not work with any gaming cards at all (or put it this way, the system will run but the Tesla card will be semi-permanently disabled). Tesla cards require Quadro cards of the exact same same GPU generation in order to work properly (for example, the Tesla K40 will work properly only with a Quadro K#### series GPU. and not a Quadro M#### or P#### series GPU).

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more