Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

beginner questions

Contributor ,
Apr 11, 2017 Apr 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Beginner here

Bear with me as I try to describe a couple of simple things I can't seem to do in AE, without knowing AE process (or terms)

1) How to make a graphic/element/source appear in one layer in the Timeline, then disappear, then appear again in the same layer, just further in the Timeline?  A simple ex. would be a rectangle flashing on/off/on. I can't seem to get an element to continue again in the same layer - I can only make a new layer for the second appearance. That can't be right? E.g,  if I wanted the same graphic to flash 4 times, I'd need 4 layers.

I'd think logically I could copy/paste it, or Option-Drag a copy to a position later in the Timeline in the same layer - like you'd do in Premiere, Flash, Director & others but can't (or thats not how AE works..IDK...).

2) How to make a short loop repeat throughout a longer composition?  (Eg.a 2 sec. loop/composition of a bouncing cartoon car with spinning tires) that I can then bring into a longer composition and make the car start big and get smaller as it drives away, bouncing all the way. My 2 second animation isn't extendable once placed into my longer composition - AE won't me let extend it beyond 2 secs. I would've guessed once placed in the longer comp. that  I could drag/extend the loop composition as many seconds I wanted and AE would know it should loop continuously while I applied other keyframing to the main comp.

3) How to swap an element/graphic in a layer with another element/graphic? In project panel I can Replace Footage - there must be a way to swap a layer element too, and retain all the keyframe properties?

Simplistic beginner explanation pls. thx!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines