• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Woes about 6 Core CPU Lr/Ps Performance (PC Upgrade)

New Here ,
Apr 12, 2017 Apr 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all, i will start my listing my current setup:

PC

CPU A10 7870k APU (1140 single thread CPUZ score)

8GB 2400Mhz RAM

SSD for OS/Programs

HDD for storage & catalogue etc

CAMERA

Panasonic G7

RAW files are 19MB

As of right now, I am on average importing + generating 1:1 previews 100-150 RAW files and sorting through them etc (yes that isn't many but I am a beginner and aim to up my workload as I improve)

I usually end up exporting a third of that.

My more intense work consists of 70% Lr+Ps as well as a bunch of Chrome tabs. The other 30% being video editing (Hitfilm 4 Express)

I'm in the process of deciding on which parts I want for a new, editing focused, PC on somewhat of a budget. My current thoughts are as follows:

A) i5 7600k (2390 single thread CPUZ score @ 4.7GHz)  with a Z270 board and 16GB 3000Mhz RAM - my initial thought was this combo

B) Ryzen 5 1600 (2163 single thread CPUZ score @ 3.7GHz)  with a 3.7GHz OC with a B350 board and 16GB 3200Mhz RAM - however, seeing the single core benchmarks of this CPU, it's only 10% less than the i5 (would I really notice the extra 10%?) but with the advantage of the extra cores and threads for the SAME PRICE.

My dilema now is I've just read posts on here saying Lr doesn't do well with 6+ core CPUs which makes me very confused as what I should do for overall improved performance over my current APU.

I'm aware Lr and Ps are mostly single threaded programs but the video work utilizes multiple cores and threads, so with all of the above in mind and the fact both builds cost near enough the same money, what are your thoughts?

I really hope someone can help me.

Thanks

MB

Views

Translate

Translate