• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help in reviewing recommeded specs for new computer

Community Beginner ,
Apr 13, 2017 Apr 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a retiree and a video hobbyist who is need of a new PC capable of handling 4K h.265 video. I mainly volunteer my time for non-profits to shoot interviews and events, but I periodically help out the local low-budget film community in making their movies.

I am not a techie, so I need a review of the recommendations for a new computer system that I received from a local company. The specs below are for a system that will run around $5,000.  Ouch!!!   Are there places in the specs where I could cut back a bit to save money without dramatically reducing the power and, hence, increasing the processing time?  The machine will mainly be used for Adobe Premiere CC and a few other CC programs. I do not currently use After Effects but that could change, I suppose.  I DO NOT do any gaming.

Here are the specs. Where could I cut back to save money without dramatically reducing performance, or where should I enhance to increase performance so that I get the most bang-for-the-buck?

CPU:  AMD Ryzen 7 1800x

Motherboard:  x370 titanium

Graphics Card:  NVIDIA GeForce Gtx 1080ti

RAM:  64GB (I don’t know the type.  Any suggestions?)

System Drive:  Samsung SSD 960 evo 500GB

Working Storage:  Samsung SSD 960 pro 2TB

Onboard Storage:  Standard Hard Drive 4TB (I assume 7200 rpm)

System Drive Backup:  Standard Hard Drive 1TB (I assume 7200 rpm)

Cooling:  Corsair Hydro Series H115i Extreme Performance Liquid Cooling

Power Supply:  Seasonic 850

DVD/BlueRay burner

Card Reader:  NZXT Aperture

Windows 10 Professional

Sound:  On board the motherboard, no special sound card

I've checked around with several online computer manufactures and they were either more expensive, didn't customize computers or, in one case rather rude and very unhelpful.

Thanks for your advice.

Views