• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Delaying an effect (Linear Wipe)

New Here ,
Apr 18, 2017 Apr 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have 5 pictures shaped like an audio spectrum behind some text and I have used a Linear Wipe to make the spectrum look as if it is moving based on audio keyframes from an audio layer I have. I have used the following expression slightly modified on each image changing the amount wiped: thisComp.layer("Audio Amplitude").effect("Both Channels")("Slider")+50 . Anyway what I am trying to do is add a delay round about a second long for each image before the expression starts taking effect.  And then for another image maybe 1.5. This is so the linear wipes will be moving at different times.

However I have no idea how to do this because I am very new to After Effects, if anybody could help me accomplish this I would really appreciate it.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Apr 18, 2017 Apr 18, 2017

set the valueAtTime expression to the audio amplitude layer in the "both channels" parameter. it will delay the time before the keyframes. as for time vs frames, I am not exactly sure if there is a difference it what you described and I think the result is what you want.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

what I am trying to do is add a delay round about a second long for each image before the expression starts taking effect.

try this expression:

valueAtTime(time-2)

this will start your animation 2 seconds further in time.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied