• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Offline Lightroom to Photoshop Workflow

New Here ,
Apr 17, 2017 Apr 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to understand the best workflow to edit photos in Lightroom and then open them in Photoshop when working offline. My raw photos are stored on an external drive and my catalog is on my laptop. I would like to take several photos with me to edit in Lightroom and Photoshop while I'm away and disconnected from my external drive. I think I understand the concept of Smart Previews in LR, but it doesn't seem like that will work for my situation. Do I need to make a copy of the raw file on my local drive and import it into LR again? I'm relatively new to LR and PS, but this is something I think I will do often.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 17, 2017 Apr 17, 2017

To edit in Photoshop you do need the Raw file to be available. You've a few options, but moving the files you want to edit onto the local drive inside the Lightroom Folders panel is probably the best way. Move them back again (and the new edited files) to the external drive when you reconnect. Make sure to do it inside Lightroom to prevent the files becoming disconnected.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

To edit in Photoshop you do need the Raw file to be available. You've a few options, but moving the files you want to edit onto the local drive inside the Lightroom Folders panel is probably the best way. Move them back again (and the new edited files) to the external drive when you reconnect. Make sure to do it inside Lightroom to prevent the files becoming disconnected.