• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pasted Smart Illustrator smart object into PS is Grey, not black CS6

New Here ,
Apr 23, 2017 Apr 23, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have some line art on which I copied over to Illustrator and performed an Image trace (black and white).  Soon, I was back in Photoshop and pasted the Vectors in as a smart object.  All looked well.  Then, I noticed something wrong.  If I put a white layer behind the Smart object, the lines look black as it should. But it isn't.  I put a Black layer behind it and it is obvious that the smart object has a Grey color.

The gray just doesn't work.  I need black color.

I'm new to Illustrator.  I just got it for the tracing.  The product I am producing seems to be correct.  It at least appears to be all black.  The Opacity is 100.

The fill and strokes are both black.  I am doing a Black and White trace.  All this at least appears to go into Photoshop properly except the fill color is grey.

I have not found any settings to fix this.  Suggestions!

Oh yes.  Its not a grayscale image. Its color, I just have a line layer over top, like a cartoon

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 23, 2017 Apr 23, 2017

Or create your Ai file in RGB mode, checking that Black is indeed 0 0 0.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It depends what mode this .ai file is using

If it's CMYK, you might have it set to Process Black 0 0 0 100 which when imported into Photoshop translates to R 35 G31 B32

If it RGB, the RGB would be 0 0 0 or Photoshop Black.

So if your ai document must be CMYK, click on your black foreground swatch and set the Color Picker like so, before creating your artwork for Photoshop.