• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Organizer vs Windows 10

New Here ,
Apr 22, 2017 Apr 22, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have about 18,000 disorganized photos.  I thought I would start using Photoshop Organizer (We have "The Cloud") to gather my photos into "Albums".  Then I realized that if you move a file in Windows, or rename it or delete it, Organizer does not handle the change gracefully.  For example, I deleted a file in Windows.  I then opened an album in Organizer.  The picture appeared in the album, but when I tried to open the picture, I got a "missing picture"  message, and Organizer then started a search to try to find the picture among the 18,000!!!!  I understand that only links are stored in Organizer, not the "real" files.  If I have to do some major reorganizing of my pictures in Windows, all the work I have done in creating albums, etc. in Organizer becomes  worthless.

I am a Photoshop beginner, by the way. I respectfully ask, what good are all the organizational tools in Photoshop Organizer?  There are similar organizational tools in Windows (key words, categories, etc.)  I'm sure those tools would react in the same way.  It's happened many times when I forward an email message with pictures and email can't find the pictures since I have moved them.  HOW do you go about organizing 18,000 photos without physically moving the files into directories, or copying the physical files 50 bazillion times in Windows?  There must be some professional photographers out there who have many more files than I do.  How do you do it?