• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Numbering chapters in a book

Explorer ,
Apr 28, 2017 Apr 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm formatting a book that has approximately 50 chapters. I'm a newbie with InDesign, and I think I've determined that the best way to proceed is to create a separate document for each chapter. I've hit upon a few questions:

• When added to the book (*.indb), does each document automatically become a chapter?
  • If I insert (in a master page) the "chapter number" text variable and apply that master page to the first page of that document, will the chapter number show in the assembled book? (NOTE: I've done this, and some chapter numbers are correct, but others aren't, though I've "updated" all numbers and "synchronized" all variables.

Many thanks!

Ken

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Contributor , Apr 28, 2017 Apr 28, 2017

Hi Ken! First thing to note is that while InDesign calls it a "Book" file, it's really a way to group individual documents together. InDesign doesn't care if they're chapters, units or pieces of a stationary kit. So the answer to your first question is maybe. Each document you add to a book becomes whatever you'd like.

That said, it seems you're doing all the right things. You're using a chapter number variable on a master page, which in turn applying to the first page of each document. You're al

Votes

Translate

Translate
Contributor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Ken! First thing to note is that while InDesign calls it a "Book" file, it's really a way to group individual documents together. InDesign doesn't care if they're chapters, units or pieces of a stationary kit. So the answer to your first question is maybe. Each document you add to a book becomes whatever you'd like.