• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

auto-incremental numbering in flowing text (variable?)

New Here ,
May 03, 2017 May 03, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

First time I write in a forum since I usually find answers in previous questions but here I'm completely stuck. I'm a professional graphic designer (using the latest CC) and I have to create a form with square which would, hopefully, have auto-incremental numbers (the client needs that, can't go around it). I will create the template so the employees can later create new forms with my paragraph styles, etc. These employees are not used to Indesign (they were using WordPerfect (DOS) which is now obselete) so I must find a way which is the easiest and most automate to avoid mistake.

The question is: How can I have into a flowing text, numbers that automatically increment?

I say flowing because I will use tabs and columns, anchor for images etc. to keep everything in one text block: once again so there is no mistake possible when the employe erase one question)

Example:

Begining of the text variable N there is more text in between and here two numbers one after the other variable N(+1), variable N+1(+1) then more text variable N+1+1(+1).

And this would become:

Begining of the text 1 there is more text in between and here two numbers one after the other 2, 3 then more text 4.

Options that won't work (or maybe I miss something there):

Paragraph style with bullet and numbering: the way to have the incremeting number works but my numbers must be into the text and not at the beginning of each line (there are sometimes number on after the other.