• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom Keywords Hierarchy

Community Beginner ,
May 04, 2017 May 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am preparing to enter several thousand photos into Lightroom for the first time.  I am totally new to Lightroom and I am also only an amateur photographer ... personal use only.  External to Lightroom, I building a Keyword hierarchical structure which I will soon import into my new Lightroom catalog. But I am questioning if it is necessary to have Keyword uniqueness within this structure. As an example under Birds I have Cardinal and under Cardinal I have Male and Female as separate keywords. But also under Goldfinch I also have Keywords Male and Female.  Is this permissible? If so, will I have difficulty doing searches? There are many other places in the hierarchy where I do not have unique keywords. I would be delighted if I could get some guidance on this issue.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 04, 2017 May 04, 2017

LR lets you have non-unique keywords in the hierarchy (e.g. Birds > Cardinal > Male and Birds > Goldfinch > Male), and it can work OK. But some considerations on doing this:

- It takes a little more care to search non-unique keywords with smart collections or the text-search box in the Library Filter bar.  In either, you would use the criterion "Keywords Contains Words Goldfinch Male" or "Keywords Contains Words Goldfinch Female" to distinguish the two.  Read carefully this section of the help to

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

LR lets you have non-unique keywords in the hierarchy (e.g. Birds > Cardinal > Male and Birds > Goldfinch > Male), and it can work OK. But some considerations on doing this: