• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to subtract image of reverse side from obverse side of a semitransparent paper document?

New Here ,
May 05, 2017 May 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear experts—

I have searched unsuccessfully various help sites regarding the following problem but came up empty.  Because it is a common problem, I would think that someone has successfully addressed it. (I am a newbie to Photoshop, so please forgive my lack of using proper terminology in the following query.)

I, like many others who do genealogy as a hobby, am often faced with several problems when viewing images of documents that are of poor quality. One problem is caused by the diffusion of the ink on the surface of the paper.  This problem is generally solvable by photoimaging software to sharpen up the script so that is legible.  Such techniques are described in various forums, including here.  See, for example, https://forums.adobe.com/message/5599291#5599291  . My question is about a different problem.

My question is about the problem that readers face when viewing images of paper documents that are written on both sides of the paper, but the paper is not fully opaque.  The image on the reverse side of the paper (verso) is partially seen on the obverse side of the paper (recto), making it the obverse side hard to read.  See, for example:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10155166482825102&set=gm.10155818242107119&type=3&theater ,