• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Tracking Rotation of Object in a scene

Explorer ,
May 06, 2017 May 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, this is my first time posting. I have tried to find an answer to my question but I am not quite getting what I'm looking for.

I'm trying to have a holographic screen hover over an object that my main character is holding. This happens in a couple of shots. I was able to pull it off in a couple of shots using simple planar tracking in mocha but the rotation is always a bit off and I need to correct manually way too often.

I am sure there is a way to track not only the position but the rotation of my object in 3D space as to simply get a rotation axis to which I could parent my hologram composition. I have attached a couple of screenshots for reference.

Hologram capture 1.PNGHologram capture 2.PNGHologram capture 3.PNG

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , May 06, 2017 May 06, 2017

looks fine to me with this setup. make sure you get a track that sticks. in Ae 3D it and parent it to a 3D null and offset the Null in Z, scale a little, adjust maybe with position for the first part and you are good to go:

001.gif

Votes

Translate

Translate
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can use Mocha for planar tracking:

Videos « Imagineer Systems

'mocha AE CC is licensed by Adobe and ships free inside After Effects Creative Cloud.This free version is launched from within AE and features mocha’s planar tracking and masking functions, limited to support for After Effects Creative Cloud.'

There is an out of focus shot there, so you'll probably have to adjust it manually.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines