Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Tab panel doesn't work

Community Beginner ,
May 15, 2017 May 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am quite new in InDesign (working for few months). I downloaded a version  InDesign CC 9 and I realize that the Tab panel doesn't work. It doesn't have any effect upon the text. The Leader cannot be modified and the paragraph can't be indented.

Has someone faced this issue before? Is it something I could change in the Preferences or elsewhere?

Thanks for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 17, 2017 May 17, 2017

You don't have a tab after Brunton or Hesse, you have spacebar spaces. Remove those blue dots and replace with the Tab character. It will look like  >> and will respond to the tab you have selected in the screenshot.

Top two rows show the spaces, the bottom two rows show the tabs:

InDesign CCss_009.png

If you need help refining the tab alignment or position, just come back and let us know.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Here's a few things to watch for when you start using the Tabs panel (refer to the screen capture below):

(1) Make sure you have the text selected to which you want to apply the tabs.

(2) Make sure you have tab characters entered between the columns of the tabular material. To make sure choose Type > Show Hidden Characters.

(3) Open the Tabs panel (Type > Tabs). There needs to be enough space above the text so it can properly align with the edge of the text.

(4) Choose your tab alignment icon at the left end of the Tabs panel. Then click above the ruler to insert it. The illustration shows a center-aligned tab. You can also enter a precise value for the tab in the X field as shown.

InDesign CC343.png