Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exporting different bleed depending on the page

Community Beginner ,
May 16, 2017 May 16, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I've just received the printing spec for this project. I'm not an expert in printing unfortunately. It's a 105x210mm guide.
I have to export it in single pages, they asked for 3mm bleed in the outside but not in the inside, (and in all sides for the cover).
My question is: how can I set this differences in the final pdf? Because the "inside" is sometimes on the right and sometimes on the left, depending on the page of course.

If I export 3mm of bleed on all the sides, I think the crop marks will be wrong for the insides, am I wrong?

I could export 1 pdf with all the pages that goes on the left (with 0mm bleed on the right because it will be the inside), and 1 pdf with all the pages that goes on the right (with 0mm bleed on the left side), but I'm sure there must be a correct way to solve this problem. Can you help? Thanks

left page.PNGright page.PNG

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use bleed for managing outside settings and page margins for the inside? As this is essentially a guide anyway I'm not sure what you are getting at?

Crop marks will appear based on what the page dimensions have been set as....

2017-05-16_10-23-15.png2017-05-16_10-25-33.png

Or in a visual representation:

2017-05-16_10-27-48.png

What am I missing?

Best,

EW

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Also: with regards to the set up for a book why don't you use the facing pages option?