• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

My images are hazy and I don't know why

New Here ,
May 16, 2017 May 16, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello. I am illustrating a book. I've been doing it since 2014, but this is the first time I have run into this problem.  The first image you see looks fine, no issues, but when you look at the second one you can tell it looks hazy. I just noticed this the other day and I don't know why all of my images minus page 1 and 2 ( I've completed 9 images so far) look hazy. I have the color set to CMYK mode so the color doesn't darken during printing. Could that be the reason why my images look the way they do? I could really use some help right now.

Thanks in advance!

Page 1.jpgPage 6.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 16, 2017 May 16, 2017

This is extremely flat and low contrast, and with a black level way up in the mid grays. Brightening will only make it worse.

You need to increase separation and contrast in the shadows, and by a substantial amount at that. A curve like this would only be the starting point.

curve2.png

For this to print properly, it would have to look something like this:

Page+6c.jpg

Don't work in CMYK! I can't emphasize this enough. You don't even know how it will be printed. You only convert to CMYK at the very end, and even then only

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi emilyk,

As the images you are saving look hazy, Could you please let us know which format are you saving the images in?

Which version of Photoshop are you using and on Which operating system?

Could you try saving them as tiff?

Regards,

Sahil

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines