Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Making a list of names

New Here ,
May 17, 2017 May 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi!

I'm working on a graduation program and need to make a list of all the graduate names. I have to format them in this way:

Lastname, Firstname - Major

I was given all the names on an excel sheet. Is there an easy way to input and format the names in this way?

Thank you!! (This is my first time asking a question on here haha)

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , May 18, 2017 May 18, 2017

Hi,

I agree with using data merge. I made a video to explain it. I have indesign in spanish, but hope you will see how to do it.

I use also a script to merge frames, you can find it here: http://ajarproductions.com/blog/2008/11/28/merge-textframes-extension-for-adobe-indesign/

Video here: https://youtu.be/Eifo-A_g8KM

Votes

Translate

Translate
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You could save the Excel file as a text file (either plain text or rich text) and place it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The names are separated in columns on the excel sheet though. And I have to manually format each name as "Last, First - Major". So like adding the comma in between and italicizing the major. I was wondering if there was a way that I can apply this format quickly to each name. Idk if I'm making sense haha.

But thanks for the help! I really appreciate it!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied