• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Re-importing word document into existing project

New Here ,
Sep 30, 2008 Sep 30, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

2. I imported a Word (Windows XP) doc to create my robohelp project.
I am new to RoboHelp, so please bear with me...

I had imported a word document into a project for HTML Help. I had mapped some IDs to create context sensitive help to work with our application. When the word doc is updated and I re-import it, the topics are duplicated in the TOC. (I normally get updates of this document from another department and we need to convert it to HMTL help for our application).

How do I fix this or prevent this from happening? (Other than delete the old project, create a new project, and import updated word document since I would have to remap all the IDs again.)

Thank you for your help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,
In order to create an HTML help project in RH I would create it in RH, not create a word doc then import it. (For a legacy situation I might import once.) If the document is created and maintained in RH then you engineer out the problems of duplicate IDs....

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Thank your for your response.

Unfortunately, this is not an option.

The document is created by another department which does not take kindly to learning and using new tools when old tools suffice for their goals (which is documentation) and new tools only serve to help the software people. (Software people get no respect 😞 )

Any other suggestions?

Votes

Translate

Translate