Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Exporting an Illustrator file as multiple PDF pages, using data from a CSV file

Community Beginner ,
May 30, 2017 May 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all,

I am very new to scripting and I'm not having much luck at finding any solutions online so far, but if you think this would be easier in InDesign or anything else please let me know. I have a bit of experience with JavaScript, so it's a plus, but still hasn't helped me so far unfortunately.

I'm currently trying to figure out the best approach at writing a script which will generate multiple PDFs from reading a CSV file, which would use the 2 pages in Illustrator as a template, create 2 pages inside a PDF with an imported serial number which will be placed into a text box at the bottom of the second page. This process may continue up to 100 pages, so every 2 pages the serial number would change for each serial number found within the CSV.

This is a 6 digit number, so maybe a script that detects every 6 number digit within the CSV, then stores it within an array that then counts the total and creates 2 pages within a PDF for every serial number found.

Any help or links to useful topics will be fantastic, as I can't seem to find anything at the moment!

Cheers guys!

Charlie

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Valorous Hero , May 31, 2017 May 31, 2017

You use Indesign's built-in Data Merge feature to do all of this, no scripting required. If you need all of them in a single PDF, then you wouldn't need any export scripts to generate individual pages, so you're good to go.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied