• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importer reported a generic error (Windows 10, .mp4, 4k/30)

Community Beginner ,
May 30, 2017 May 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Adobe Premier Elements and am having problems.  I'm primary using it to edit video from a DJI Phantom 4 Pro.

My first problem was that my original shoot was using the h.265 4k encoding format.  It never occurred to me that a company like Adobe wouldn't support a new (but not brand new) codec.

Then I completely redid the shoot using mp4 h.264 4k/30 format.  Most of the media (photos and videos) imported fine, but some generated the message: The importer reported a generic error.  The failure was consistent on specific files regardless of whether imported in batch or singly.

The failed videos play just fine in the standard Windows player.  I don't see any relationship between failing/succeeding on the videos in terms of size, etc.  Some do, some don't.

A "generic error" is obviously not helpful.  I've been CTO of five software companies and frankly would have fired someone for this.

Is there a known cause with a fix, or at least a circumvention, other than purchasing another editing package?

---

Hardware: MS Surface Book 16G RAM.

Software: Windows 10 Creators Edition (all updates).  Adobe Premier Elements 15 (all updates).  Camera: DJI Phantom 3 Pro (all updates).  Format: .mp4, h.264, 4k/30.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
May 30, 2017 May 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Premiere Elements 15 can edit XAVC 4 video -- which is a 3840x2160 MP4. Is this the video your Phantom is shooting?