• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

System upgrades

Explorer ,
Jun 01, 2017 Jun 01, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there, Just about to commit to a new computer for editing on Premiere. Using a laptop at the moment, with plenty of go but a woeful graphics card. This is how the spec looks at the moment (apologies for the format issues with pasting!) I am on a fairly tight budget, but would be willing to spend an extra £100 or so if there were any obvious areas where a modest upgrade would improve performance.

Sorry. I'm a journalist rather than a pro editor, so delving into computer specs scares the pants off me.... especially when it means forking out my own money!

Processor (CPU)

Intel® Core™i7 Six Core Processor i7-6800K (3.4GHz) 15MB Cache

Motherboard

ASUS® X99-A II: ATX, USB 3.1, SATA 6 GB/s, RGB Ready

Memory (RAM)

16GB Corsair VENGEANCE DDR4 2133MHz (2 x 8GB)

Graphics Card

6GB NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX 1060 - DVI, HDMI, 3 x DP - GeForce GTX VR Ready!

FREE Rocket League with select GTX 10 Series GPUs!

1st Hard Disk

5TB SATA-III 3.5" HDD, 6GB/s, 7200RPM, 128MB CACHE

2nd Hard Disk

5TB SATA-III 3.5" HDD, 6GB/s, 7200RPM, 128MB CACHE

RAID

RAID 1 (MIRRORED VOLUME - 2 x same size & model HDD / SSD)

[Moderator note: moved to best forum]

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Valorous Hero ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

if money is tight, or just looking for best value, you might want to consider the amd ryzen cpu's. their 6 core and 8 core cpu's are around half the price of intel's. if you want intel, you might want to wait for their next release coming soon.

as far the hardware list you have above goes:

the ram should at least be ddr4-2400, but anything closer to ddr4-3000 would be better. the next gen intel cpu's should be ddr4-2666 default.