Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop: Camera raw filter gone? Workflow help needed

New Here ,
Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

I'm a 3D artist at a big engineering consultancy company based in Sweden, I make marketing renders and explanatory animations for some of our customers. Whenever I need to create a photo real image of a customers product I'd shade and light its CAD geometry in 3Ds Max and save an .EXR in 32bit colour bit depth and throw that into Photoshop, make it into a smart object and apply Camera Raw filter to make it pop. Camera raw is huge for me. On top of that i'd apply adjustment layers until the customer is happy but I always enjoyed being able to go back and edit the Camera Raw settings, and also to copy the same filter settings over to a new PS document with an EXR of for example another product rendered in the same light setup in 3Ds Max.

Right now it seems Adobe has removed the ability to apply Camera Raw to a smart object?

What is the point of this?

If anyone has an idea of how I could change my workflow to adopt to this new Photoshop functionality I'm happy to learn, I might have missed something here?

Thanks alot for your input!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 06, 2017 Jun 06, 2017

I've just played around with this and I think I may have a method that works. Be interested to see if you can try it and confirm with your own images.

With your 32 bit image open in Photoshop - save it as a flattened TIFF (with 32 bit floating checked).

Import that TIFF to Lightroom

In Lightroom use menu Library >  Convert Photo to DNG

Then menu Photo > Edit in > Open as Smart object in Photoshop. This opens a 16 bit image with a smart object.