• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Crop picture to custom shape

Community Beginner ,
Jun 10, 2017 Jun 10, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely new to Photoshop and I'm not a techie, so I don't know what masks, layers, etc.. mean. I want to crop a picture into a heart shape. Here is the picture. I have created the custom heart shape I want. How do I crop the picture so that everything outside of the red heart is transparent, not just a white background? Please be specific of steps, because as I said I do not know most of the terms used in Photoshop. I'm trying to get this project done in time for Father's day. Thanks! I sincerely appreciate anyone's help.

Dan Dec 2016 Heart.jpg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 10, 2017 Jun 10, 2017

Quick way

Put your filled custom shape as the bottom layer

Put your image above it

In the layers panel Alt Click on the border between the two layers , so that a small sown arrow appears and the image is clipped to the shape

You can use Save for Web to export as a PNG with transparency

Dave

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Crops are rectangular you can mask the outside area to transparent and save a png that will display as a heart shaped. the canvas is still a rectangle.

JJMack

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

OK. How do I mask the area outside the heart to transparent?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Quick way