• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Weird behaviour with dialog box and a variable in Lua script for Lightroom Plugin

Explorer ,
Jun 13, 2017 Jun 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm writing a Lightroom plugin using the Lightroom SDK/API in the Lua language. I'm new to Lua. I've found a situation where my script only works if a Lightroom dialog box (LrDialogs.message("random message")) is present in one function.  If the first dialog isn't included then the program flow never steps into the for line in io.lines(outputFilePath) block, despite outputFilePath being populated with the correct path string.  Any ideas what's going on?

Here's the code:

------ read output file for exif and write to LR metadata ------
function parseOutput(outputFilePath)

LrDialogs
.message("random message")

local tblOutput = {}   --to hold the output exif (1 column table, i.e. an array)

local tblImages = {}   --to hold the images and their relevant metadata

for line in io.lines(outputFilePath) do
       line
= removeWhitespaces(line)
       table
.insert(tblOutput, line)

end

local str = table.remove(tblOutput) --remove last line in table/file (it's log info, not exif)
   tblImages
= extractExif(tblOutput)  --pick out the exif key/value pairs and add to Image objects

end

[Moved out of the general (and dead) Coding Corner and into a product-specific SDK forum - moderator]

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jun 14, 2017 Jun 14, 2017

The call to parseOutput() must occur only after Exiftool has finished.  So they should be executed sequentially in the same task.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied