• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Order of 3D layers in After Effects (help!)

New Here ,
Jun 15, 2017 Jun 15, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there,

I'm a beginner in After Effects and I have a problem that drives me crazy.

There are about 40 layers in my composition and as soon as I add another one, convert it to a 3D layer and move it further back,

it doesn't work. The layer either stays at its position or just partly moves behind the previous layer (half of it is still visible). 2D layers

work just fine but in the 3D workspace, the order of the layers doesn't make any sense whatsoever.

Just made an update - didn't change a thing

Has anyone experienced similar problems and/or knows how to fix this?
Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
People's Champ ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would try converting all the layers to 3d rather than trying to move a 3d layer behind a 2d layer.

Maybe something that exists in only 2 dimensions does not have a "front" and "back". 

Maybe it only has a top, bottom, left and right?

Seems logical to me.

I would also switch to a top camera view to see the z depth from above and see if i can see whats going on.

~Gutterfish

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for the quick response!
English isn't my first language, I probably didn't explain that correctly.

Here's a picture of what it currently looks like. I have 4 ( all 3D) layers: