• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Alright... What is the PERFECT Folder / Cache / Previews / Catalog setup?

New Here ,
Jun 17, 2017 Jun 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

This program is unbearable and I'm about one step away from switching to other software. Every year this software gets worse for me and I've been using the same setup for over 5 years. Software is suppose to get optimized and work better overtime. Not worse. It's not like there's tons of new features or the program is going under dramatic changes... And all of the online recommendations here don't do jack. Smart previews, cache folder size, etc.

So I'm hoping to get some sort of aha moment, that I might be doing something wrong, with how LR is suppose to be setup now, vs how I've been doing it.

I have an SSD, and a RAID 10 drive attached via USB3

The software is on my SSD which is a 1tb drive, and has 800gb of free space. Overkill.

Everything else is on the RAID 10 drive. That way backups are easy to handle and if my main drive goes out, I don't have to worry about previews, settings, and all the edits I have done getting deleted.

I have seen documentation stating that it's good to have the previews stored where the OS is, and I have seen tests showing a whopping 5% difference when choosing different locations for cache, catalog, the software, etc. It's way worse than 5% for me right now.

Fresh OS about a month ago. defrag and cleanup regularly, updated my GPU, then turned it off in LR anyway, 4770k with 16gb ram, all programs, but LR closed, and developing photos is a nightmare.

What is the 'perfect' folder setup for this stuff? The most optimal setup... If I have to buy a second drive for cache by itself, I'm half temped. It's my last step before deleting this obviously un-optimized software.