• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Color Filling PathItems based on name containing PathItems

New Here ,
Jun 20, 2017 Jun 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to Illustrator and scripting solutions regarding Illustrator therefore my knowledge and explanations might be somewhat lacking.

Basically I want to select a PathItem based on name and fill it with color. This works for "single" PathItems, but when the PathItem contains Pathitems it doesnt work. Picture:

lager.PNG

As seen the "single" PathItems are correcrly colorized, but not the one containing PathItems.

Relevant code:

docRef = app.activeDocument;

try{

frontPath = docRef.pathItems.getByName(kommunKoder[index]);

frontPath.filled = true;

frontPath.fillColor = col;       

}catch(err) { 

}     

kommunKoder is just an array containing the name correlating to the name of the PathItems. If I iterate through every PathItem based on index I can fill them all, but since I want a specific color for a specific PathItem I want to do this by name. Any easy solution?

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 20, 2017 Jun 20, 2017

So, first off, a pathItem by definition cannot have any children elements. The item you've shown in your screenshot is a group.

When you reach a groupItem, you need to start a new loop that loops the children of that group.

Try out this snippet. I was unable to test it because i don't have the file you're working on or access to the data in the kommunKoder array. But perhaps this will at least give you some insight. GroupItems don't have a fillColor property and you didn't have any code in your ca

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied