• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

INDD CC 2017 tough to start up

Explorer ,
Jun 20, 2017 Jun 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been experiencing this problem for quite some time, but when I finally get InDesign up and running, I then work my tail off to get jobs done before it decides to crash again. I'm a graphic designer (print industry), and I use ID CC 2017, PS CS5 and IL CS5. My primary use is InDesign, with affiliated files in PS and IL.

InDesign often crashes when I have a couple files open (or sometimes only one) and I go to open another file. These are not huge files. Today had a postcard file, an empty brochure file, and went to open a business card file to make some edits. Upon trying to open, I get the spinning ball and ID stops responding, so I have to force quit. When I try to open, I keep getting the attached message (see screenshot). Yet if I continue to double click the name of the file I'm trying to open, the splash screen shows and I can see it's trying to do things (I see movement, messages like "Starting up panels...", something about registering plug-ins, initializing something....)

Even though it is telling me it can't open InDesign, it eventually opens if I keep at double clicking a file. But by eventually, I mean about 15-30 minutes later, or after a number of force quits and trying to reopen, or by restarting the computer. This issue occurs EVERY day at least once, and really puts me behind in my work.

I have tried zapping the PRAM when I restart, have used Disk First Aid over and over even though it tells me each time that everything on the hard drive is fine. I've looked at posts in this forum about trashing the preferences, but the path indicated does not show that way on my computer. Where I'm seeing preferences is: Macintosh HD>Library>Preferences> ... and then I see two files relating to Adobe InDesign (com.adobe.InDesign.7.0.4.plist  and  com.adobe.InDesign.7.0.plist)