• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Whats the meaning of "LR manages color is Prophoto RGB" when my monitor is only capable of sRGB?

New Here ,
Jun 26, 2017 Jun 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a newbie and am fundamentally confused how a software tool like LR can work in its own color space independent of monitor capabilities!

Basically, I have an sRGB monitor and printer, both of whose gamut is smaller than prophoto. Since by definition it's not a WYSIWYG setup (i.e. LR on prophoto vs others on sRGB), I'm bothered about:

1.  How can I trust my painful hours of editing would produce EXACT colors at a printer (also calibrated to sRGB)?

The answer cannot be soft proofing, right? I need LR to be able to work in sRGB (because my monitor is only capable of it) in REAL TIME  so that I can be assured any edit i do will show up in my prints exactly like I see on my monitor. i do not want to waste countless hours in "develop" just to learn the moment I go to soft proofing, results could be subtly different, and i can't tell or track where what's happening.

2. Even more importantly, is there only color truncation (i.e. only highly saturated colors are lost as prophoto to sRGB conversion happens in real time) or complete loss of color data?

Any clarifications are highly appreciated. Given LR has been around for so long, I believe this is a non-issue, and am curious to know the answer.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 26, 2017 Jun 26, 2017
Community Expert ,
Jun 26, 2017 Jun 26, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The answer to this question is so 'deep', and I cannot swim, so can only refer-