• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

library question

New Here ,
Jun 28, 2017 Jun 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

hi there.. I am new to lightroom as I switched over last year from aperture.  I keep all of my photos on an external hardrive.  I change my hardrive every year to make sure to avoid fails.  Last week I copied my photos on to a new drive.  I opened this drive on my laptop by holding option key and double clicking on LR icon on my laptop.  This set the drive as my default (when opening LR) no problem.  I just tried to do the same on my desktop and the library opened with question marks by every folder.  I tried closing and opening again several times with the same result.  After looking online for help, I right clicked on a couple of folders with question marks and selceted "find photos"  those folder just disappeared from lightroom catalog.  Now I have no idea what to do.  Can anyone help?  I know it's something simple, just dont know what.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 28, 2017 Jun 28, 2017

Images never 'disappear' from LR just from itself.

As long as the new drive is on the same mount-point and has the very same folder structure, this move to a new drive should not be an issue. A '?' on folders indicates that this seems not to be the case.

Either correct the drive so that from LR's view is everything the same as before or re-link the topmost folder (only!) in LR's library.

Adobe Lightroom - Find moved or missing files and folders

If you already messed up the catalog, restore a backup

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jun 28, 2017 Jun 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Images never 'disappear' from LR just from itself.