Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Font Acquisition - Grabbing From In Design - New to In Design

Community Beginner ,
Jun 29, 2017 Jun 29, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Forum Users,

I'm new to using In Design, as I'm self taught and trying to pick up the tricks I need as I go along. I appreciate any help or tips I can get!

My question at the moment is: How can I glean the font type used in a stock vector I purchased for an extended license? I want to replace the text with my own for re-purposing.

If any of you know this font off hand let me know please, it's file #87728052, It's the bottom right graphic. I tried using the selection tool and seeing if it had it in it's data base, but no such luck. Again I am very new at this, so just realize I may ask stupid questions. When I select the Text It doesn't register as a text type at all? It is a Vector obviously, but I have no idea how to proceed to actually add the text that I want.

Thanks for taking a look, I hope I can get a few tips!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Guide , Jun 30, 2017 Jun 30, 2017

There are a few free websites that allow you to submit an image of some type and will try to guess which font is used. Here is one:

WhatTheFont! « MyFonts

You will need to first save a copy of the vector file as an image.

You can remove the original type in Illustrator, then replace it in either Illustrator or InDesign (after placing the vector file) using type on a path.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Jun 29, 2017 Jun 29, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You have to do it in Illustrator, not in InDesign.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines