• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

ICC profiles - soft proofing - totally confused !

New Here ,
Jul 11, 2017 Jul 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi - sorry about the dramatic title, but thats what i experience right now

I use LR and shoot raw - i am an amateur photographer which is having trouble.

I am trying to ensure that my colors are correct, both when printing a picture at a local photo-store and when other is viewing them at their pc (i know Mac screens are somewhat accurate and others a totally crap)

Last time i printed at the store my pictures were slightly green.

I run windows 10 and "DisplayCAL" which loads a custom ICC profile that i have created using a hardware-calibrator - this made my "whites" at my desktop background become truly white and not greenish (only talking about desktop right now)

I view my edited and JPEG-saved photos in Faststone Image Viewer (recommendation from other danish photographers) - compared to PS and LR, the pictures in faststone is still having a slightly greenish look, where as in LR and PS, they are having the look i like.

I changed PS ICC-profile, from the regular sRGB IEC61xxxx-something, to my custom ICC-profile - this made my pics in PS look like what i see in Faststone
(is this technically done correct?? - ie, changing to my custom profile in PS?)

Now i am trying to do the same with LR - i have learned that you should use "Soft proofing" - but when i choose my own custom ICC, the picture does not change color ! - i have disabled GPU-acceleration (found the tip in another thread in here), but still it doesnt work !

Questions:

I am on the right track, when i am trying to change every ICC-profile to my custom profile? (the goal is to ensure that printed colors are the same at my screen and in LR, PS and Faststone)

How do i make LR work correctly with Soft Proofing?