• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Scripts and security - how do I know that a jsxbin is safe for use?

New Here ,
Jul 12, 2017 Jul 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to After Effects and have found a number of tutorials that provide scripts and ask the reader/viewer to install them, sometimes asking the user to change their preferences. For example: 'Turn on the setting allowing Scripts to write and access network'.

This immediately rings alarm bells, as I do not know the ramifications of the changing the settings or how Adobe manages security issues related to scripts.

This is complicated by the scripts being in jsxbin format, I cannot review the scripts to confirm that everything is kosher.

So my question is, can Ae Scripts do anything malicious (i.e. am I being overly cautious)? If so, are there specific settings that I need to be careful with to manage any undesired behaviour?

To be honest, I'm not happy that scripts can be 'compiled' into binaries. It removes the ability to audit what is going on. Maybe it is okay for the main players... but even then I'm not always 100% sure. Malicious behaviour is something that is always a concern when downloading 'scripts' from unknown and unverifiable sources.

Color me suspicious. 🙂

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Jul 12, 2017 Jul 12, 2017