• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Enabling form fields to 'track changes' at multiple different times within a single form document?

New Here ,
Jul 13, 2017 Jul 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm very new to InDesign and would appreciate some help with creating interactive PDF forms. I'm looking to design a PDF form which will, in theory, be passed between two teams multiple times as a complex request progresses towards completion. Team A will first complete some of the form fields and pass it to Team B to action; then a few weeks later Team A might update the same form with more details and re-send it as a request to update the previous work, or Team B might send it back with some corrections or questions added for Team A, etc. I'd like this to be a PDF form so as to make it look attractive/reasonably modern and to keep the information for each request somewhat standard, but I'd also like to be able to use a single document version for each request (perhaps to be kept on a shared drive accessed by both teams), to minimise double-handling and version proliferation. I'd also like to enable each team to quickly identify the form edits made by the other team, each time a given form gets updated, rather than either team having to check through the entire form and cross-reference with related systems etc to check which parts of the request have already been done.

Additionally, any 'track changes' functionality also has to be user-friendly so that form users will actually make use of it. For example, I could put a radio button next to each form field asking the user to nominate 'Needs action from Team A', 'Needs action from Team B' or 'N/A' for that field, but I doubt the form users could be bothered doing that extra step for every field, every time they update the form.

A couple of vague ideas I have so far: