• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Processor speed or more cores? Dual Xeon or i7/i9?

New Here ,
Jul 16, 2017 Jul 16, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everybody,

I'm a videographer, motion graphic designer and VFX compositor, i spent some time searching for a good workstation setup to build myself and it's all good except for the CPU... Basically i'm an Ae lover and also a Pr user so those are my main softwares.

My only concern is "in which way" to go big? Many cores (dual Xeon) or high speed (i7 6950x or maybe an i7 7740k).

I've been watching specs from Boxx, HP, Puget, ProMax and others to try better understand which way to go big.

Puget wrote a detailed article on how dual processors are useless for after effects and how Adobe has limited the multithreading, quote: "In fact, the only consistent result we saw was that using dual CPUs for After Effects is not a good idea." (https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-After-Effects-CC-2015-3-Multi-Core-Performance-843/...​)

This shocked me because i've been dreaming of HP Z820 and Boxx Apexx5 etc.

But then i thought that probably this could be true because if you build computer and you want to sell to more people you have to consider multiple kind of users, like 3d users for which make more sense having a dual xeon probably. Puget say they do workstation for specific use and that's why for Ae setup the highest processor they sell is the i7 6950x.

Now my questions are:

• Is Adobe going to allow Ae full support for multi-threading sooner or later?
  • Should i go with th e i7 6950x or consider single Xeon or even wait for the new processors coming (new i9 and new Xeon family coming soon)?
  • Will Premiere instead get enough advantage of two processors to make it worth it? Or for the overall performance is better to go with a sigle high speed processor?