Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cinema 4D Lite Plugin - Slow & Laggy

New Here ,
Jul 18, 2017 Jul 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi All

I'm trying to figure out why After Effect's Cinema 4D Lite plugin's performance is so bad. I'm using a Dell precision 7510 with a i7-6820HQ, 32GB of RAM and Quadro M2000M graphics. Quite modern, but the plugin is so laggy with OpenGL turned on that it's un-usable. The CPU/GPU doesn't register as being under any load at all so i'm unsure if this is a preferences setting that is messing everything up or if its something else. The lag is awful regardless if there are any 3D models on the screen or not.

If I turn OpenGL off, it gets better, but obviously this is less than ideal performance too.

I'm a complete newbie to this so any advice on troubleshooting/solving this would be greatly appreciated.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 18, 2017 Jul 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Speed depends on what you are doing in the composition, the comp settings, the Composition Panel settings. Generally you should set your Magnification (far right) to 50% or less and the Composition resolution to Auto. Your Composition Settings should be one of the standard presets. 4K takes 8 times as long to render as HD. Lights, 3D layers, cameras, particle systems, and temporal (time changes) effects dramatically increase render times. If the composition is set to use the Ray-traced (deprecated and not advisable) or the C4D rendering engine your render times will go up dramatically. If you have huge images that are scaled way down in your composition and never reach something close to 100% scale in your composition you are adding significant time to your renders.